Traffic Ticket Attorney — Drivers License Attorney
Handling Colorado Cases – (303) 625-9400
Drivers License Charges
There are 65+ Ways to Lose Your Drivers License and a person's driving privileges may be restrained (taken away or significantly...
Traffic Tickets & Charges
Driving is a privilege and your driver's license may be restrained (taken away or significantly limited) by Point Suspension, Administrative...
Professional CDL Drivers
If you hold a Commercial Drivers License CDL, you are held to a higher standard of driving conduct and safety, not only while you...
Non-Colorado Residents
If you are a visitor to Colorado and have been issued a traffic ticket, do not ignore it or you may face serious consequences...
Get a Free Consultation!
Complete this form OR send a text to (303) 335-5161 for a free consultation.

Driving Without a Drivers License

Where a Driver Does Not Have (and Never Has Had) a Drivers License

Driving Without a Drivers License

In cases where a driver never has had a driver’s license, a Driving Without a Drivers License charge is a Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense and a conviction may result in a scheduled fine of $150.00 to $300.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 to 90 days (usually only ordered in cases where there are aggravating factors, such as injury to a person or reckless indifference to the safety of others), restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of 3 points to the driver’s record for a first-time conviction. A second or subsequent conviction will result in an assessment of 6 points to the driver’s record.

Where a Drivers License is Expired for One Year Or Less

Driving Without a Drivers License

In cases where a driver’s license is expired for one year or less, a Driving Without a Drivers License charge is a Class B Traffic Infraction and a conviction will result in a scheduled fine of $15.00 to $100.00 plus court costs and surcharges, with an assessment of 3 points to the driver’s license.

Where a Drivers License is Expired for More Than One Year

Driving Without a Drivers License

In cases where a driver’s license is expired for more than one year, a Driving Without a Drivers License charge is a Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense and a conviction may result in a scheduled fine of $150.00 to $300.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 to 90 days (usually only ordered in cases where there are aggravating factors, such as injury to a person or reckless indifference to the safety of others), restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of 3 points to the driver’s record for a first-time conviction. A second or subsequent conviction will result in an assessment of 6 points to the driver’s record.

Where a Driver Does Not Have His License in his Immediate Possession

Driving Without a Drivers License

In cases where a driver does have a valid driver’s license but does not have that license in his immediate possession while operating a motor vehicle, a Driving Without a Drivers License charge is a Class B Traffic Infraction and a conviction will result in a scheduled fine of $15.00 to $100.00 plus court costs and surcharges, with an assessment of 3 points to the driver’s license.

Where a Driver Operates a Type of Vehicle Without the Correct Type of License

Driving Without a Drivers License

In cases where a driver operates a type or class of vehicle for which he does not have the correct type or class of license (i.e. driving a passenger bus while only possessing a class C license), a Driving Without a Drivers License charge is a Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense and a conviction may result in a scheduled fine of $150.00 to $300.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 to 90 days (usually only ordered in cases where there are aggravating factors, such as injury to a person or reckless indifference to the safety of others), restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of 3 points to the driver’s license for a first-time conviction. A second or subsequent conviction will result in an assessment of 6 points to the driver’s record.

Driving Without a Drivers LicenseCommercial Drivers License CDL Alert: Serious Offense
Important: A Driving Without a Drivers License conviction, if the driver was operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) at the time of the violation, is a “Serious Offense” under the Commercial Drivers License CDL Program and will result in a 30-day, 60-day or longer Disqualification of the CDL if certain conditions are present. Be sure that you fully understand the consequences of this charge on your CDL driving privileges.
Driving Without a Drivers LicenseAlert to All Drivers – Requirement for Payment of Restitution
Important: Colorado law provides that “any person convicted of a Class 1 or Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense — such as Driving Without a Drivers License — shall be required to pay restitution” to the person who incurred damages as a result of the violation. See C.R.S. § 42-4-1701. Restitution is payment to the injured party in order to make that person whole again in such a position that the person was in before the incident, and includes payment for economic damages (e.g., property damage, medical bills, or lost wages) and non-economic damages (e.g., pain and suffering, disfigurement, or loss of enjoyment of life). Be sure that you fully understand the consequences of a conviction for the charge of Driving Without a Drivers License.
Driving Without a Drivers LicenseAlert to All Drivers With Professional Licenses – Duty to Report, If Conviction
Important: Some licensed professionals — doctors, dentists, nurses, chiropractors, therapists, and attorneys, etc. — may be required under state regulations to report criminal misdemeanor convictions such as Driving Without a Drivers License to the appropriate governmental licensing agency.

Colorado Drivers License & Traffic Ticket Attorney – Call Us Today To Discuss Your Case!


Driver's License Point System
For each conviction of a traffic violation or driving charge, the court notifies the Division of Motor Vehicles...
Driver's License Point System
Driver's License Restraints
A person's privilege to drive may be restrained (taken away or severely limited) for up to one year or more if the driver...
Driver's License Restraints
Driver's License Reinstatement
While you may be eligible to reinstate your driver's license after a certain period of suspension or revocation time has...
Driver's License Reinstatement
Serving Colorado Front-Range & Denver-Metro Areas:
Including Adams County, Arapahoe County, Broomfield County, Clear Creek County, Denver County, Douglas County, Elbert County, El Paso County, Gilpin County & Jefferson County; and the Cities and Towns of Arvada, Auraria, Aurora, Black Hawk, Brighton, Broomfield, Bow Mar, Castle Pines, Castle Rock, Centennial, Central City, Cherry Hills Village, Colorado Springs, Commerce City, Denver, Edgewater, Elizabeth, Englewood, Federal Heights, Glendale, Golden, Greenwood Village, Kiowa, Lakeside, Lakewood, Larkspur, Littleton, Lone Tree, Mountain View, Northglenn, Parker, Sheridan, Thornton, Westminster, Wheat Ridge and more.
Accepting major credit cards, cash, personal checks, bank checks and money orders.
VisaMasterCardAmerican ExpressDiscover
Read Some of Our Reviews…
Copyright © 2017, Denver Traffic Lawyer, LLC. We do not claim a copyright for public information contained herein. This website is created and maintained by Denver Traffic Lawyer, LLC.
Call Us Now!