Traffic Ticket Attorney — Drivers License Attorney
Handling Colorado Cases – (303) 625-9400
Drivers License Charges
There are 65+ Ways to Lose Your Drivers License and a person's driving privileges may be restrained (taken away or significantly...
Traffic Tickets & Charges
Driving is a privilege and your driver's license may be restrained (taken away or significantly limited) by Point Suspension, Administrative...
Professional CDL Drivers
If you hold a Commercial Drivers License CDL, you are held to a higher standard of driving conduct and safety, not only while you...
Non-Colorado Residents
If you are a visitor to Colorado and have been issued a traffic ticket, do not ignore it or you may face serious consequences...
Get a Free Consultation!
Complete this form OR send a text to (303) 335-5161 for a free consultation.

Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance

Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance

Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance is a serious charge. It is a Class 1 Traffic Misdemeanor Offense and a conviction for a first-time Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance violation may result in a minimum mandatory fine of $500.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 days to 1 year (usually only ordered in cases where there are aggravating factors, such as excessive severe injury to a person or extreme indifference to the safety of others), restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of 4 points to your driver’s license. The court may impose a fine amount greater than the minimum amount. Additionally, the court may suspend up to one-half of the assessed fine amount if the driver subsequently gets liability insurance that is in effect at the time of the court hearing.

What If I Get Two or More Violations For No Insurance Within a 5 Year Period?

If a driver gets two or more convictions for Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance within a five year period, in addition to the penalties listed above, the minimum mandatory fine is increased to $1,000.00, with the possibility that the court may suspend up to one-half of the assessed fine amount if the driver subsequently gets liability insurance that is in effect at the time of the court hearing.

Failure to Provide Proof of InsuranceAlert for No Proof of Insurance Convictions: SR-22 insurance Required
Important: If a driver gets a conviction for Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will require the driver to obtain and maintain SR-22 Liability Insurance for a period of 3 years. If the driver fails to obtain and maintain the SR-22 Insurance, the driver’s license will be Administratively Suspended until SR-22 Liability Insurance is obtained.
Failure to Provide Proof of InsuranceAlert to All Drivers – Requirement for Payment of Restitution
Important: Colorado law provides that “any person convicted of a Class 1 or Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense — such as Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance — shall be required to pay restitution” to the person who incurred damages as a result of the violation. See C.R.S. § 42-4-1701. Restitution is payment to the injured party in order to make that person whole again in such a position that the person was in before the incident, and includes payment for economic damages (e.g., property damage, medical bills, or lost wages) and non-economic damages (e.g., pain and suffering, disfigurement, or loss of enjoyment of life). Be sure that you fully understand the consequences of a conviction for the charge of Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance.

Colorado Drivers License & Traffic Ticket Attorney – Call Us Today To Discuss Your Case!


Driver's License Point System
For each conviction of a traffic violation or driving charge, the court notifies the Division of Motor Vehicles...
Driver's License Point System
Driver's License Restraints
A person's privilege to drive may be restrained (taken away or severely limited) for up to one year or more if the driver...
Driver's License Restraints
Driver's License Reinstatement
While you may be eligible to reinstate your driver's license after a certain period of suspension or revocation time has...
Driver's License Reinstatement
Serving Colorado Front-Range & Denver-Metro Areas:
Including Adams County, Arapahoe County, Broomfield County, Clear Creek County, Denver County, Douglas County, Elbert County, El Paso County, Gilpin County & Jefferson County; and the Cities and Towns of Arvada, Auraria, Aurora, Black Hawk, Brighton, Broomfield, Bow Mar, Castle Pines, Castle Rock, Centennial, Central City, Cherry Hills Village, Colorado Springs, Commerce City, Denver, Edgewater, Elizabeth, Englewood, Federal Heights, Glendale, Golden, Greenwood Village, Kiowa, Lakeside, Lakewood, Larkspur, Littleton, Lone Tree, Mountain View, Northglenn, Parker, Sheridan, Thornton, Westminster, Wheat Ridge and more.
Accepting major credit cards, cash, personal checks, bank checks and money orders.
VisaMasterCardAmerican ExpressDiscover
Read Some of Our Reviews…
Copyright © 2017, Denver Traffic Lawyer, LLC. We do not claim a copyright for public information contained herein. This website is created and maintained by Denver Traffic Lawyer, LLC.
Call Us Now!