Traffic Ticket Attorney — Drivers License Attorney
Handling Colorado Cases – (303) 625-9400
Drivers License Charges
There are 65+ Ways to Lose Your Drivers License and a person's driving privileges may be restrained (taken away or significantly...
Traffic Tickets & Charges
Driving is a privilege and your driver's license may be restrained (taken away or significantly limited) by Point Suspension, Administrative...
Professional CDL Drivers
If you hold a Commercial Drivers License CDL, you are held to a higher standard of driving conduct and safety, not only while you...
Non-Colorado Residents
If you are a visitor to Colorado and have been issued a traffic ticket, do not ignore it or you may face serious consequences...
Get a Free Consultation!
Complete this form OR send a text to (303) 335-5161 for a free consultation.

Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle

Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle

The charge of Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle, also including failure to yield to stationary or slow-moving vehicles may be charged as a Class A Traffic Infraction, a Class 2 Traffic Misdemeanor Offense or a Class 1 Traffic Misdemeanor Offense, depending upon the circumstances in the case, as detailed below:

Failure to Pull Over to the Right-Side of Roadway for Emergency Vehicle

Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle

A Failure to Pull Over to the Right-Side of Roadway for an Emergency Vehicle charge applies where a driver fails to pull over to the right-side of the roadway for a passing emergency vehicle that has its red and blue lights and siren activated. Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle is a Class A Traffic Infraction and a conviction will result in a scheduled fine of $15.00 to $100.00 plus court costs and surcharges, with an assessment of 4 points to your driver’s license.

Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle Without Injury or Death

Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle
A Failure to Yield to Emergency, Stationary or Slow-Moving Vehicle Without Bodily Injury or Death (legally the same as Careless Driving) charge applies where a driver fails to move over a lane or slow down for an Emergency, Stationary or Slow-Moving Vehicle (see definitions above). This type of Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle charge is a moderately serious charge. It is a Class 2 Traffic Misdemeanor Offense and a conviction may result in a scheduled fine of $150.00 to $300.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 to 90 days (usually only ordered in cases where there are aggravating factors, such as injury to a person or reckless indifference to the safety of others), restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of 4 points to the driver’s license. In some cases, Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle may affect your automobile insurance coverage or premium rates for years to come.

Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle With Injury or Death

Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle

A Failure to Yield to Emergency, Stationary or Slow-Moving Vehicle With Bodily Injury or Death (legally the same as Careless Driving) charge applies where a driver fails to move over a lane or slow down for an Emergency, Stationary or Slow-Moving Vehicle (see definitions above). Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle with bodily injury or death is a serious charge. It is a Class 1 Traffic Misdemeanor Offense and a conviction may result in a scheduled fine of $300.00 to $1,000.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 days to 1 year, restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of points — 4 points for causing bodily injury or 12 points for causing death — to the driver’s license. In some cases, Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle may affect your automobile insurance coverage or premium rates for years to come.

Failure to Yield to Emergency VehicleAlert to All Drivers – Requirement for Payment of Restitution
Important: Colorado law provides that “any person convicted of a Class 1 or Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense — such as Failure to Yield to Emergency, Stationary or Slow-Moving Vehicles — shall be required to pay restitution” to the person who incurred damages as a result of the violation. See C.R.S. § 42-4-1701. Restitution is payment to the injured party in order to make that person whole again in such a position that the person was in before the incident, and includes payment for economic damages (e.g., property damage, medical bills, or lost wages) and non-economic damages (e.g., pain and suffering, disfigurement, or loss of enjoyment of life). Be sure that you fully understand the consequences of a conviction for the charge of Failure to Yield to Emergency, Stationary or Slow-Moving Vehicles.
Failure to Yield to Emergency VehicleAlert to All Drivers With Professional Licenses – Duty to Report, If Conviction
Important: Some licensed professionals — doctors, dentists, nurses, chiropractors, therapists, and attorneys, etc. — may be required under state regulations to report criminal misdemeanor convictions such as Failure to Yield to Emergency, Stationary or Slow-Moving Vehicles to the appropriate governmental licensing agency.

Colorado Drivers License & Traffic Ticket Attorney – Call Us Today To Discuss Your Case!


Driver's License Point System
For each conviction of a traffic violation or driving charge, the court notifies the Division of Motor Vehicles...
Driver's License Point System
Driver's License Restraints
A person's privilege to drive may be restrained (taken away or severely limited) for up to one year or more if the driver...
Driver's License Restraints
Driver's License Reinstatement
While you may be eligible to reinstate your driver's license after a certain period of suspension or revocation time has...
Driver's License Reinstatement
Serving Colorado Front-Range & Denver-Metro Areas:
Including Adams County, Arapahoe County, Broomfield County, Clear Creek County, Denver County, Douglas County, Elbert County, El Paso County, Gilpin County & Jefferson County; and the Cities and Towns of Arvada, Auraria, Aurora, Black Hawk, Brighton, Broomfield, Bow Mar, Castle Pines, Castle Rock, Centennial, Central City, Cherry Hills Village, Colorado Springs, Commerce City, Denver, Edgewater, Elizabeth, Englewood, Federal Heights, Glendale, Golden, Greenwood Village, Kiowa, Lakeside, Lakewood, Larkspur, Littleton, Lone Tree, Mountain View, Northglenn, Parker, Sheridan, Thornton, Westminster, Wheat Ridge and more.
Accepting major credit cards, cash, personal checks, bank checks and money orders.
VisaMasterCardAmerican ExpressDiscover
Read Some of Our Reviews…
Copyright © 2017, Denver Traffic Lawyer, LLC. We do not claim a copyright for public information contained herein. This website is created and maintained by Denver Traffic Lawyer, LLC.
Call Us Now!