When a driver gets too many traffic ticket points assessed in accordance with Colorado’s DMV Point System within a certain period of time, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will begin the process of a Point Suspension of the driver’s driving privileges. If the DMV administratively determines that the points assessed to the driver’s record are in fact correct, the person’s driving privileges will be suspended for up to one year. Following is the process that occurs when a driver is convicted of a traffic violation that puts the driver over the limit for points allowed:
|After the Court Enters a Traffic Conviction Into the Record…|
In ALL cases where a driver gets more points than is allowed during a certain time period, the following steps are automatically performed by DMV in accordance state law and agency rules.
|An electronic notification is sent (usually within 48 hours) to the DMV advising of the conviction.|
|DMV records the conviction to the driver’s permanent driving history record.|
|A Suspension Notification Letter is mailed (usually within 4-6 weeks after the date of the conviction) to the driver by DMV to the address listed on the driver’s license. The letter will advise you that DMV’s records show you have received too many points, that your license may be suspended according to Colorado law as provided in C.R.S. § 42-2-127, and that a hearing has been set for a specific date and time to administratively determine whether you in fact have gotten too many points. The hearing date is often set for about 4 weeks after the date of the letter.|
|A Point Suspension Hearing is conducted at DMV to administratively determine whether the driver in fact has gotten too many points. The driver may have an attorney present at the hearing. If the driver does not show up for the hearing, it will be conducted without the driver. The hearing officer will examine the evidence (primarily your driving history record) to determine whether the point amount was exceeded — if it was, the driver’s license will be suspended for up to one year.|
|In cases where an adverse action (Suspension, Revocation, Denial or Cancellation) is taken by DMV, a driver has the right to file an appeal in Colorado District Court as long as the appeal is filed within 30 days of the hearing decision.|