Traffic Ticket Attorney — Drivers License Attorney
Handling Colorado Cases – (303) 625-9400
Drivers License Charges
There are 65+ Ways to Lose Your Drivers License and a person's driving privileges may be restrained (taken away or significantly...
Traffic Tickets & Charges
Driving is a privilege and your driver's license may be restrained (taken away or significantly limited) by Point Suspension, Administrative...
Professional CDL Drivers
If you hold a Commercial Drivers License CDL, you are held to a higher standard of driving conduct and safety, not only while you...
Non-Colorado Residents
If you are a visitor to Colorado and have been issued a traffic ticket, do not ignore it or you may face serious consequences...
Get a Free Consultation!
Complete this form OR send a text to (303) 335-5161 for a free consultation.

Speeding Ticket

Speeding Ticket
A Speeding Ticket may be charged as a Class A Traffic Infraction, a Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense or a Class 1 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense, depending upon the speed and circumstances in the case, as detailed below:

1 to 4 M.P.H. Over the Limit

Speeding Ticket

Speeding 1 to 4 miles per hour over the speed limit is a Class A Traffic Infraction and a conviction for a speeding ticket will result in a scheduled fine of $15.00 to $100.00 plus court costs and surcharges, with an assessment of 0 points to your driver’s license. In cases where the violation occurred in a maintenance, repair, or construction zone, the fine amount will be doubled by the court.

5 to 9 M.P.H. Over the Limit

Speeding Ticket

Speeding 5 to 9 miles per hour over the speed limit is a Class A Traffic Infraction and a conviction for a speeding ticket will result in a scheduled fine of $15.00 to $100.00 plus court costs and surcharges, with an assessment of 1 point to your driver’s license. In cases where the violation occurred in a maintenance, repair, or construction zone, the fine amount will be doubled by the court.

10 to 19 M.P.H. Over the Limit

Speeding Ticket

Speeding 10 to 19 miles per hour over the speed limit is a Class A Traffic Infraction and a conviction for a speeding ticket will result in a scheduled fine of $15.00 to $100.00 plus court costs and surcharges, with an assessment of 4 points to your driver’s license. In cases where the violation occurred in a maintenance, repair, or construction zone, the fine amount will be doubled by the court.

Speeding TicketCommercial Drivers License CDL Alert: Serious Offense
Important: A conviction for a Speeding Ticket 15 or more miles per hour over the limit, if the driver was operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) at the time of the violation, is a “Serious Offense” under the Commercial Driver’s License CDL Program and will result in a 30-day, 60-day or longer Disqualification of the CDL if certain conditions are present. Be sure that you fully understand the consequences of this charge on your CDL driving privileges.

20 to 24 M.P.H. Over the Limit (not in a special zone)

Speeding Ticket

Speeding 20 to 24 miles per hour over the speed limit (not in a maintenance, repair or construction zone) is a Class A Traffic Infraction and a conviction for a speeding ticket will result in a scheduled fine of $15.00 to $100.00 plus court costs and surcharges, with an assessment of 6 points to your driver’s license.

20 to 24 M.P.H. Over the Limit (in a special zone)

Speeding Ticket

Speeding 20 to 24 miles per hour over the speed limit (in a maintenance, repair or construction zone) is a Class A Traffic Infraction and a conviction for a speeding ticket will result in a scheduled fine of $540.00 (see C.R.S. § 42-4-1701) plus court costs and surcharges, with an assessment of 6 points to your driver’s license.

25 to 39 M.P.H. Over the Limit (not in a special zone)

Speeding Ticket

Speeding 25 to 39 miles per hour over the speed limit (not in a maintenance, repair or construction zone) is a moderately serious charge. It is a Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense and a conviction for a speeding ticket may result in a scheduled fine of $150.00 to $300.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 to 90 days (usually only ordered in cases where there are aggravating factors, such as injury to a person or reckless indifference to the safety of others), restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of 6 points to your driver’s license.

25 to 39 M.P.H. Over the Limit (in a special zone)

Speeding Ticket

Speeding 25 to 39 miles per hour over the speed limit (in a maintenance, repair or construction zone) is a serious charge. It is a Class 1 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense and a conviction for a speeding ticket may result in a scheduled fine of $300.00 to $1,000.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 days to 1 year (usually only ordered in cases where there are aggravating factors, such as injury to a person or reckless indifference to the safety of others), restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of 6 points to your driver’s license.

40 or More M.P.H. Over the Limit (not in a special zone)

Speeding Ticket

Speeding 40 or more miles per hour over the limit (not in a maintenance, repair, or construction zone) is a moderately serious charge. It is a Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense and a conviction for a speeding ticket may result in a scheduled fine of $150.00 to $300.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 to 90 days (usually only ordered in cases where there are aggravating factors, such as injury to a person or reckless indifference to the safety of others), restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of 12 points to your driver’s license. In some cases, a conviction for 12-point Speeding may affect your automobile insurance coverage or premium rates for years to come.

Speeding TicketAlert to All Drivers – Mandatory License Suspension
Important: A conviction for any 12-point Speeding Ticket will automatically result in a MANDATORY suspension of the driver’s license for up to 1 year, regardless of the person’s driving history.

40 or More M.P.H. Over the Limit (in a special zone)

Speeding Ticket

Speeding 40 or more miles per hour over the limit (in a maintenance, repair or construction zone) is a serious charge. It is a Class 1 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense and a conviction for a speeding ticket may result in a scheduled fine of $300.00 to $1,000.00 plus court costs and surcharges, a possible jail sentence of 10 days to 1 year (usually only ordered in cases where there are aggravating factors, such as injury to a person or reckless indifference to the safety of others), restitution, community or useful public service, probation for one year or longer, and other possible requirements by the court, with an assessment of 12 points to your driver’s license. In some cases, a conviction for 12-point Speeding may affect your automobile insurance coverage or premium rates for years to come.

Speeding TicketAlert to All Drivers – Mandatory License Suspension
Important: A conviction for any 12-point Speeding Ticket will automatically result in a MANDATORY suspension of the driver’s license for up to 1 year, regardless of the person’s driving history.
Speeding TicketCommercial Drivers License CDL Alert: Talk to Us Before Paying the Ticket!
Important: Depending upon the issuing police agency (including Colorado State Patrol and many County Sheriff’s Offices), if you pay the penalty assessment amount by mail, the original charge may be entered onto your driving history even though the assessed points are reduced. If you possess a Commercial Drivers License, be particularly cautious before you mail in a penalty assessment ticket because you might be admitting guilt to the original charge, which could result in a “Serious Offense” under the Commercial Drivers License CDL Program with a 30-day, 60-day or longer Disqualification in certain cases. Depending on the jurisdiction where the ticket is issued, an attorney may be able to get the charge reduced to a charge that is not a “Serious Offense. Regardless of whether you have a Colorado or Out-of-State driver’s license, be sure you fully understand the CDL consequences of mailing in a penalty assessment ticket before you do so. Call us today to discuss your case!
Speeding TicketAlert to All Drivers – Requirement for Payment of Restitution
Important: Colorado law provides that “any person convicted of a Class 1 or Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense — including certain categories of Speeding Tickets — shall be required to pay restitution” to the person who incurred damages as a result of the violation. See C.R.S. § 42-4-1701. Restitution is payment to the injured party in order to make that person whole again in such a position that the person was in before the incident, and includes payment for economic damages (e.g., property damage, medical bills, or lost wages) and non-economic damages (e.g., pain and suffering, disfigurement, or loss of enjoyment of life). Be sure that you fully understand the consequences of a conviction for the charge of the higher-level Speeding tickets.
Speeding TicketAlert to All Drivers With Professional Licenses – Duty to Report, If Conviction
Important: Some licensed professionals — doctors, dentists, nurses, chiropractors, therapists, and attorneys, etc. — may be required under state regulations to report criminal misdemeanor convictions such as misdemeanor traffic offense Speeding Tickets to the appropriate governmental licensing agency.

Colorado Drivers License & Traffic Ticket Attorney – Call Us Today To Discuss Your Case!


Driver's License Point System
For each conviction of a traffic violation or driving charge, the court notifies the Division of Motor Vehicles...
Driver's License Point System
Driver's License Restraints
A person's privilege to drive may be restrained (taken away or severely limited) for up to one year or more if the driver...
Driver's License Restraints
Driver's License Reinstatement
While you may be eligible to reinstate your driver's license after a certain period of suspension or revocation time has...
Driver's License Reinstatement
Serving Colorado Front-Range & Denver-Metro Areas:
Including Adams County, Arapahoe County, Broomfield County, Clear Creek County, Denver County, Douglas County, Elbert County, El Paso County, Gilpin County & Jefferson County; and the Cities and Towns of Arvada, Auraria, Aurora, Black Hawk, Brighton, Broomfield, Bow Mar, Castle Pines, Castle Rock, Centennial, Central City, Cherry Hills Village, Colorado Springs, Commerce City, Denver, Edgewater, Elizabeth, Englewood, Federal Heights, Glendale, Golden, Greenwood Village, Kiowa, Lakeside, Lakewood, Larkspur, Littleton, Lone Tree, Mountain View, Northglenn, Parker, Sheridan, Thornton, Westminster, Wheat Ridge and more.
Accepting major credit cards, cash, personal checks, bank checks and money orders.
VisaMasterCardAmerican ExpressDiscover
Read Some of Our Reviews…
Copyright © 2017, Denver Traffic Lawyer, LLC. We do not claim a copyright for public information contained herein. This website is created and maintained by Denver Traffic Lawyer, LLC.
Call Us Now!